Dr. Titash Mondal, alumni of our college (UG 2004-2007) has received a prestigious award (Sparks-Thomas Award) from American Chemical Society. He is currently a faculty of IIT Kharagpur.

First Indian from any Indian Research and Educational Institute and the 4th Asian to receive this award, since its inception in 1986.



Rubber Division, ACS

5,008 followers 10m · Edited · ③

🥁 DRUM ROLL PLEASE...

🎉 We are excited to announce our 2025 Science & Technology Award Winners!... see more





2025 SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY AWARD WINNERS

Rubber Division, ACS annually honors the best of the best with the most prestigious awards in our industry – our Science & Technology Awards. The 2025 winners will accept these awards and be celebrated at a banquet sponsored by Alpha Technologies on March 5, 2025 during the Rubber Division, ACS Spring Technical Meeting in Lake Buena Vista, FL. Each Science & Technology Award Winner will also give a presentation in the technical session following the banquet. Congratulations to our 2025 award winners!



Charles Goodyear Medal - Dr. Gert Heinrich

Dr. Gert Heinrich was named the 2025 Charles Goodyear Medalist. The most prestigious award given by Rubber Division, ACS is sponsored by HF GROUP and was established in 1941 to perpetuate the memory of Charles Goodyear as the discoverer of the vulcanization of rubber. It honors individuals for outstanding invention, innovation or development which has resulted in a significant change or contribution to the nature of the rubber industry.



Melvin Mooney Distinguished Technology Award – Dr. Sunny Jacob

Dr. Sunny Jacob was selected for the 2025 Melvin Mooney Distinguished Technology Award, sponsored by <u>Lion Flastomers</u>. This award perpetuates the memory of Melvin Mooney, the developer of the Mooney Viscometer and other testing equipment, and honors individuals who have exhibited exceptional technical competency by making significant and repeated contributions to

rubber science and technology.



George Stafford Whitby Award for Distinguished Teaching and Research – Dr. Robert Weiss

Dr. Robert Weiss was named the winner of the 2025 George Stafford Whitby Award for Distinguished Teaching and Research, sponsored by <u>Cabot Corporation</u>. This award honors teachers and academic scientists for distinguished, innovative and inspirational teaching and research in chemistry and polymer science. The award perpetuates the memory of George S. Whitby, head of the rubber laboratory at The University of Akron and for years the only

one who taught rubber chemistry in the USA. It honors outstanding international teachers of chemistry and polymer science and recognizes innovative research.



Sparks-Thomas Award - Dr. Titash Mondal

Dr. Titash Mondal was chosen for the 2025 Sparks-Thomas Award, sponsored by Endurica, LLC. This award perpetuates the memory of William J. Sparks and Robert M. Thomas, chemists who developed butyl rubber. It recognizes and encourages outstanding scientific contributions and innovations in the field of elastomers by younger scientists, technologists and engineers who are within 25 years of earning their undergraduate degree.



Chemistry of Thermoplastic Elastomers Award – Dr. Takeji Hashimoto

Dr. Takeji Hashimoto was selected for the 2025 Chemistry of Thermoplastic Elastomers Award, sponsored by Renkert Oil, LLC. This award recognizes the contributions of scientists in the field of thermoplastic elastomers. Particular emphasis is placed on innovations that have yielded significant new commercial or patentable materials.